Florida Pilot / Escort Vehicle Requirements Guide

A Pilot Car is Required When:
  • Load width is between 12' - 14' wide:

    • One pilot car

  • Load width is between 14' - 16' wide:

    • Two pilot cars (front and rear)

  • Load height exceeds 14' 6'' high:

    • One pilot car (high pole)

  • Load length is between 95' - 150' long:

    • One pilot car

  • Load length is between 150' - 250' long:

    • Two pilot cars (unless traveling on a limited access highway, then only one pilot car is required).

Pilot / Escort Vehicle Requirements
  • A single motor vehicle between 2,000 and 26,000 lbs.

  • Identifications signs or placards, minimum 8'' x 12'', showing name of company or owner of the vehicle AND telephone number. Must be on both sides of the vehicle.

  • High visibility rotating, strobe, or flashing class 2 amber warning lights mounted as to be visible by all traffic at a distance of at least 500 feet.

  • "OVERSIZE LOAD" sign mounted on either bumper or roof, black letters with a minimum brush stroke of 10 inches high and 1 1/2 inches wide. Visible from front and rear.

  • Two 18'' x 18'' flags, either red or fluorescent orange, mounted at approximately a 40 to 70 degree angle on the roof.

  • Operable two-way communications.

  • One class ABC fire extinguisher, minimum 5 lbs.

  • STOP/GO or STOP/SLOW paddles, minimum 18'' in diameter with 6'' letters.

  • High visibility class 2 safety vest for flagging during the daytime, class 3 safety vest for flagging at night.

  • One hand-held flag, either red or orange, minimum 12'' x 12''.

  • 2 warning signs (min. 7 feet long by 18 inches high) to be used in the event the permitted vehicle or load loses its sign(s).

  • Three 36'' Traffic Cones, must be reflective if used at night.

Additional Info:

Contact Information:

Toll Free: (850) 410-5777


Pilot / Escort Operator Requirements
  • Must be Florida qualified, or qualified from another state that has equal or more stringent standards.

  • Must be at least 18 years of age.

  • Must have successfully completed minimum 8 hour defensive driving course as provided by the National Safety Council OR hold a currently valid Commercial Driver's License (Class A, B, or C).

  • Must be able to provide proof of these requirements upon request.

Disclaimer: The state pilot car requirement guide was created by Pit Row Services LLC. This guide is accurate to the best of our knowledge and has been provided to our customers as a courtesy. The information in this guide is our interpretation of the law. We cannot be held responsible for any errors and recommend our customers refer more formal sources with any additional questions.